The Woman in Purple (rainbow_goddess) wrote,
The Woman in Purple

Introduction post for newcomers to my journal

I thought I should do a quick intro for those I've added recently, and even those added not so recently who might now know all my info.

Cast of characters:

Me. I'm 46 years old. I was diagnosed with Type 1 aka juvenile diabetes at age five. I was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome and non-verbal learning disability when I was 35. I work on a seasonal basis as a transcriber and editor.

My parents. My Mum passed away from Alzheimer's Disease in 2009. My Dad passed away in June 2013. I have one brother and one sister, both older. Brother is a control freak who bosses around his younger siblings and our Dad. Sister is five years older than I am and we fought a lot when we were growing up but now we're really close friends. I communicate with both of them mainly through Facebook (my brother) and Twitter (my sister.)

My nieces and nephews: Two of each. One nephew has ADHD and possibly undiagnosed Asperger's and is very, very bright even though he never finished school. One niece has non-verbal learning disability and an unspecified developmental delay that makes her act a bit younger than her actual age. She got her high school diploma through high-school equivalency courses at the local community college. Other niece and nephew are pretty much certified geniuses.

My friends: victoriacatlady and jenfer47 are my oldest real-life friends. I also have friends that I know through work and sometimes mention here: Amy, Aaron, Glenn, Anne, Dan and Emily. Amy lives close by and we take turns kitty-sitting each other's cats if either of us goes out of town.

My boyfriend/partner/significant other: I call him Monster, but his name is actually John. We've been together for 16 years. He also works a seasonal job. His job is as a tax preparer. We don't live together but he's here about half the time anyway. He says we can't live together until my housekeeping abilities improve, but I rather like living alone half the time anyway. He's also a computer networking technician and plays around with NetBSD. He's obsessed with money and capitalism, which causes a bit of tension between us as I am more along the socialist part of the political spectrum.

My cats. There are four of them right now. Chaya is a shorthaired black-and-white girl who is seven years old. Inky is a black shorthaired girl kitty who is just over a year old. In December '14 I adopted a calico mama kitty (around a year old) and her tortie kitten from Cats Cradle animal rescue. Calli was my 16-year-old tortoiseshell who passed away in June 2014. Rosebud was a dilute tortie rescue kitty from the animal shelter whom I adopted in the summer of 2012 and had to euthanize in the summer of 2013 because she had cancer. In September of 2011 I had to euthanize Poupée, my grey Persian rescue kitty, also because of cancer.
  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened